Just accepted at Alamy

Yay! My very first test photo submissions ever just passed QC at Alamy (the worlds largest independent stock photo site). I chose them because I have a fundamental objection to giving away my photos for peanuts on microstock sites. With alamy I can sell my photos on Royalty-Free, Rights-Managed, or Rights-Managed (Exclusive) Licences and get more money per sale at the cost of having fewer sales. Now I just have to get some stock up to sell. It’s 1am now but I don’t think I’ll sleep for a while, I’m pretty stoked!🙂

About James Williams

I am writing this blog to help people put the media in perspective; to think and stand up for ourselves. No one else is going to!
This entry was posted in Site News and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Just accepted at Alamy

  1. Emma says:

    Congratulations – but I think you are underestimating the quality of your own photos. I am not surprised and I am serious about Nat. Geo. (or Australian Geo, or Nature, etc.). Also, newspapers like the Sydney Morning Herald for your photos and articles about your travels – big travel section every weekend. Hope still enjoying the nomadic part!

    • Thanks for the encouragement, I’ll certainly be trying to get my pics distributed to as many publications as possible that can use them. I haven’t investigated those big names you mentioned, but I looked at lonely planet images and they require a significant number of top quality images submitted to get on board (eg. 500) plus an ongoing commitment (eg. 500 per quarter), so for the moment I am just working on improving my efficiency, the quantity and quality of images, uploading to this blog and my portfolio and places such as Alamy where I can get some exposure and experience in the industry. Next will be investigating other (non-microstock) agencies and publications to reach more buyers with the same images. Articles for papers are certainly possible as is the coffee-table book you mentioned and I may look into them in the future if the photos alone aren’t sufficient. But for now it’s one step at a time (travel pun intended). As for enjoying the nomadic part – you bet! Don’t miss the house full of junk at all🙂

  2. Maggie Kyle says:

    Congratulations James- this is old news for you but I am catching up on emails and messages that have been waiting and waiting!

Leave a Reply

